“High in the breathtaking scenery of the Snowdonia National Park, this charming little cottage was built in 1863 for Henry Hovendon, Superintendent of the Ffestiniog Railway. Today, it is decaying; the lathe and plaster ceilings have collapsed from water penetration, and the floors and joinery are rotten. Abandoned for nearly a decade and recently listed Grade II, Coed y Bleiddiau’s remote setting has left it impractical for modern daily life.”
The property “Wood of the Wolves” was built by the Railway in 1863 for its manager Henry Hovenden who lived here with his wife and 7 children. By 1913 it was no longer required by the railway and was let as a holiday home initially to a bank manager and in 1922 to the composer Granville Bantock who co-founded the Birmingham Symphony Orchestra with Sir Thomas Beecham and Joseph Chamberlain and counted amongst his friends Richard Strauss, Sir Henry Wood and Edward Elgar.
The Landmark’s Historian, Caroline Stanford, told us several interesting stories connected with Bantock’s visitors and subsequent leaseholders.
Inside the house Richard Burton, Landmark’s Project Manager, showed us around and explained the Trust’s proposals for the house and its rooms.
The Rear Extension added soon after the house was built will stay. Note the heap of slate tiles.
Re-roofed Outside Toilet
The Solid Fuel Stove will be cleaned up but possibly not used
A new kitchen sink will be installed
Shelves will replace the 1950s cupboards
Ground Floor Double Bedroom
Amazing 19th century railway construction work
Access to the property will be by rail, naturally. There is a 25 foot platform immediately outside the front gate but parking is 400m away downhill in the valley. Luckily, there is electricity and running water.
Slate was the raison d’etre of the Ffestiniog Railway – and it is all around
What a way to arrive at … and leave your holiday home
Please shut the gate when leaving